Eurogroup to elect new chief in december

Added On October 11, 2017

Eurozone finance ministers are scheduled to elect a new chief to chair Eurogroup at their December meeting.
Jeroen Dijsselbloem will stay on as Eurogroup President until January.
At a press conference in Luxembourg on Monday, Dijsselbloem said finance ministers of the 19-country eurozone have allowed him to complete his mandate until mid-January.
Back home in the Netherlands, Dijsselbloem will be stepping down as the country's finance minister, after his party declined to join the ruling coalition. 
Eurogroup members will now vote for a new chief at their December meeting, with candidates put forward two weeks before.
Position of Eurogroup president usually falls on a sitting finance minister in the single currency zone.