3 Scientists share Nobel prize in chemistry

Added On October 5, 2018

 The 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been inspired by the power of evolution.

Three scientists received the prize on Wednesday, for making it possible to develop proteins which have since solved many of humankind's medical and chemical problems.
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced that one half of this year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry was given to American scientist Frances H. Arnold, "for the directed evolution of enzymes".
In 1993, Frances H. Arnold became the first person to create new enzymes through a process called "directed evolution".
Enzymes produced through directed evolution have been used to manufacture everything from biofuels to pharmaceuticals.
The other half of the prize was jointly given to American scientist George P. Smith and British scientist Sir Gregory P. Winter, "for the phage display of peptides and antibodies".
In 1985, Smith developed a method known as phage display, where a bacteriophage -- a virus that infects bacteria -- can be used to evolve new proteins. And Winter used phage display to produce new pharmaceuticals.
Today, phage display has produced antibodies that can combat autoimmune diseases and treat metastatic cancer.
Peter Somfai, member of the Chemistry Class, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, said many consumer products and medicines that we use today are based on the technology developed by these three scientists.
This year's prize is around one million U.S. dollars.