3 scientists share 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics

Added On October 10, 2019

 The Royal Academy of Sciences in Stockholm has announced that the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics are shared by three scientists.

World news has more.
The Nobel Physics committee said on Tuesday that this year's Nobel Prize in Physics rewards new understanding of the universe's structure and history, and the first discovery of a planet orbiting a solar-type star outside our solar system.
The discoveries have forever changed our conceptions of the world.
This year's prize is about 1 million U.S. dollars.
SOUNDBITE(ENGLISH): GORAN HANSSON, Secretary general of Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
"The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has today decided to award the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics with one half to James Peebles for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology and the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star."
In a telephone interview during the press conference with James Peebles, he emphasized the importance of group contributions, and that he did not "work alone". He said it was along with "group working" that he got new ideas, and grew with it.
Peebles also gave an important advice to young people who intend to commit to sciences.
James Peebles, born in 1935 in Winnipeg, Canada, is Albert Einstein Professor of Science at Princeton University, USA.
Michel Mayor, born in 1942 in Lausanne, Switzerland, is Professor at University of Geneva, Switzerland.
Didier Queloz, born in 1966, is Professor at University of Geneva, Switzerland and University of Cambridge, UK.