3 Economists win Nobel economics prize

Added On October 16, 2019

Three economists have won the 2019 Nobel Prize in economics for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.
World News reports.
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced on Monday that the 2019 Nobel Prize in Economics has been awarded to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer.
Abhijit Banerjee, born 1961 in Mumbai, India, is now a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the United States.
Esther Duflo, born 1972 in Paris, France, is also a professor at the MIT. She is the youngest person ever and only the second woman to receive the economics prize.
Michael Kremer, born 1964, is a professor at Harvard University in the United States.
? ?
According to a press release, the research conducted by this year's Laureates has considerably improved the ability to fight global poverty.
? ?
In just two decades, their new experiment-based approach has transformed development economics, which is now a flourishing field of research.
? ?
The prize amount is 9 million Swedish krona (about 910,000 U.S. dollars), and it will be shared equally among the Laureates.